Beer Braised Beef Chuck Roast

I really wanted to grill some fat burgers, so I bought a nice 2 1/2 lb boneless chuck roast to grind up since it was the same price as ground beef and we all know that fresh ground chuck is perfect for awesome burgers.2015-05-13 17.17.00

Spring in Spokane means the weather did not want to cooperate as it rained all day. I guess it is time to make a nice, fall apart roast with onions and carrots. I applied my famous, spicy coffee rub to both sides of the roast.2015-05-13 17.19.55

Seared the roast on both sides for approximately 5 minutes per side.2015-05-13 17.29.02

I then pulled the roast out of the pan and added a chopped up onion and 4 cloves of garlic, peeled and smashed, to pan and cooked until the onions were just starting to turn brown. Poured in 1 cup of beer and 1 cup of Dr Pepper, about a Tbsp of Worcestershire and a package of Lipton Beefy Onion Soup mix (since I did not have any beef stock around) and brought to a boil. Removed from heat and placed roast in to my braising liquid and covered with a lid. Popped that into a 225 degree oven.  After cooking for about an hour I went in and turned the roast over and continued to cook for 2 more hours. I then added some peeled and chopped carrots and put it back in for another hour.

Just trying to pull the roast out and put it on a plate, the thing fell apart. I pulled it all apart just a little but I did want some nice chunks in there, so not too much.2015-05-13 21.37.17

I removed the carrots and placed them in a serving dish. Added about a tablespoon of flour and whisked until smooth. Reducing and thickening the sauce took about ten minutes. Then I added the meat back to the pan to soak up some of that goodness. 2015-05-13 21.49.44

Served over some mashed potatoes with the carrots. Very good grub! Moist, tender, fall-apart chunks of delicious cow flesh in a rich, smooth beer and Dr. Pepper sauce. 2015-05-13 21.51.59

Meet Meat!

3 thoughts on “Beer Braised Beef Chuck Roast

Leave a Reply

