Coffee Rubbed London Broil

London broil is such an easy, fast dinner really. Most often, you will find that it is a marinated flank or top round that is cooked over very high heat and served rare. For this London broil I used a 1.5 lb top round and generously applied my special coffee rub which is basically coffee, garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne, black pepper and kosher salt. Wrapped it up and placed in the fridge for about 48 hours. I then pulled it out to come up to room temp while I got the grill going. You can see how dark it is from sitting with the coffee rub for so long.2015-06-02 17.38.29

One chimney of briquettes got me a nice, hot fire. I could only hold my hand over the grill for about 2 seconds. On it goes.2015-06-02 17.54.39

Six minutes later I flipped it over and let it go for six more minutes.2015-06-02 18.00.29

Once it is done cooking I pulled it from the grill and let it rest for six minutes loosely covered in foil.2015-06-02 18.11.07

Sliced up into beautiful, thin, deliciousness. Sorry, no plated pic here as I was famished and had to eat NOW. πŸ™‚2015-06-02 18.22.03

Meet Meat!

16 thoughts on “Coffee Rubbed London Broil

      1. Washington State! Ah, now I know that we understand each other. My old home! This is remarkable looking steak — whatever it’s called. Great photos, great writing (nicely trimmed, without excess fat. I like that).

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Nice! Thanks for the comments. I do love to have good pics. The writing on the other hand…not so sure about myself…lol. There was really no fat on this hunk of flesh to be trimmed (thank the butcher for that). Thanks for stopping by!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. The comment was ON the writing. Too many people use too many words. (Like leaving too much fat on the meat. You want a little, for flavor, but not too much.) Your writing is just the right amount for the task. Clear, to the point. Thank you for that, and for the steak! Now — do you share your coffee rub recipe? Or is it must “a little of this, a little of that”? I’m new to this blog, thanks to my friend “Gilly.”

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Yes, I kinda like to keep it short. The ingredients for the rub are in the post but I do not measure much of anything really so it is β€œa little of this, a little of that”. Very cool for the shoutout to Gilly πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

