Asian-style Braised Pork Belly

The roomie bought a very nice, 1.5 lb slab of pork belly from the farmer’s market. 2015-06-04 10.30.57

Now, I had never cooked pork belly so I took to the inter-webs and did some searching to get ideas and after much debate within myself I went the Asian route here inspired by Emeril. I started by making a marinade with soy sauce, lemon and lime juice, dark brown sugar, garlic, ginger, cayenne, onion powder and crushed red peppers. I scored the fat on top of the pork belly. Then  I poured the marinade into a bag with the pork belly, closed it up and put in a pan in the fridge for about 30 hours.2015-06-04 10.48.112015-06-04 10.55.26

Pork belly, marinade and a cup of water into a 9×13 pan. I cooked it fat side down at 325 degrees for an hour then flipped it over and continued cooking for another 90 minutes.2015-06-05 17.04.46

Serious shrinkage but looking good so far.2015-06-05 19.51.58

Pulled pork belly out of the cooking liquid and placed on a plate and into the fridge to cool. Then I removed the fat from the liquid and put that into a small saucepan to reduce down to a nice glaze. After about 4 hours I pulled the pork belly out and cut into cubes which were then put on some foil on a sheet tray.2015-06-05 22.24.38

Into a 400 degree oven for about 25 minutes to crisp them up and caramelize some more.2015-06-05 22.58.38

These babies are ready to eat! I made up some good old white rice and a salad of baby bok choy, shredded carrot and jalapeno and some thinly sliced red onion dressed with a simple vinaigrette of EVOO, vinegar, soy sauce and salt and pepper. Serve the pork belly over the rice with a little bit of the glaze.2015-06-05 23.07.24

Mmmm…sweet, sour, salty, spicy, umami goodness that was crispy and melt-in-your-mouth tender, fatty goodness. I should have just called this meat candy because that is what it was to me. Delicious!2015-06-05 23.06.39

Meet Meat!

8 thoughts on “Asian-style Braised Pork Belly

Leave a Reply

