HUGE Beer Can Burgers

With all of the pics of beer can burgers going around, I had to give it a shot. For starters, the ones that I have seen are always pretty small so I decided I needed a bigger beer. Enter the 25.4 oz/750 ml Foster’s can. ๐Ÿ™‚ These are going to be filled with mac and cheese withย onions. I used about half a pound of 80/20 ground beef for each burger. Place you can into it and press the meat up the sides to create a nice well for your stuffing.2015-07-17 18.57.22

Sprinkle a little of your favorite rub into the well then fill with whatever you see fit. I made a little mac and cheese with some spinach noodles, bacon fat roux, sour cream, milk, sharp Velveeta and some seasonings, then sprinkle rub all around them.2015-07-17 19.09.22

I par cooked my bacon for 10 minutes in the oven and wrapped the burgers using 2 slices each and securing with a couple toothpicks. Then I added shredded cheddar to the top.2015-07-17 19.34.41

Smoked with apple wood at about 300 ish degrees until the IT (internal temperature) was about 155. Pulled off and let rest for about 15 minutes. Baste with BBQ sauce during the last 15 or so minutes.2015-07-17 22.14.01

Huge burgers for sure! Plopped them onto some cheddar cheese buns with a little mayo.2015-07-17 22.37.35

Yum. Crazy, I did not need to use a knife and fork but I managed to eat it without making a huge mess. Good and smokey. I should have put less noodles in the sauce as the mac seemed a little dry but for my first attempt I am completely satisfied. Give them a try!2015-07-17 22.38.27

Meet Meat!

8 thoughts on “HUGE Beer Can Burgers

Leave a Reply

