Chili Cheese Dog Fatty

Yes, I did just do Smoking a Fatty about a month ago but I wanted to try something a little different. Chili cheese dogs have long been a favorite of mine but not especially blog worthy…until now. Starting this fatty, I used about 1 1/4 lbs of 80/20 ground beef. Make a nice rectangle little less than 1/2 inch thick. Sprinkle with your favorite seasonings. I used my coffee rub and a little cumin here.2015-07-22 13.50.37

Next up, a thin layer of some yellow mustard and slices of Havarti cheese.2015-07-22 13.54.07

Then I added some chili, diced onions and two all beef hot dogs.2015-07-22 14.02.12

Top that with some grated cheddar cheese, chopped cilantro and some hot sauce. 2015-07-22 14.06.59

Next, make your bacon weave. (The next two pics are from my Smoking a Fatty post as I forgot to take pics of this one).2015-06-28 20.40.39

Carefully roll up the fatty and place the seam side into center of the bacon weave. That way when you have your fatty wrapped the inner seam is at the top and the bacon seam is at the bottom. I placed toothpicks on the ends of each slice bacon to hold it in place. I then lightly sprinkled my coffee rub all over the outside.2015-06-28 21.00.07

Got the Weber setup with a small-ish fuse with apple wood chunks. Once the heat has settled around 225 degrees, carefully place the fatty on and cook for about 4 hours. Once the bacon is rendered and looking good it should be done, however you should shoot for an internal temperature of 160 degrees.2015-07-22 19.02.46

I pulled out the toothpicks and wrapped loosely in foil to rest for about 1/2 hour. 2015-07-22 19.22.02

Oh boy! This is a good one here. The chili kept it very moist, there was tons of cheese and the onions still had a little bite to them. If there was only one thing this could have used was some sort of acidity in the form of pickles or some pepperoncini or something. Hope you like it as much as I did!2015-07-22 19.24.42

Meet Meat!

8 thoughts on “Chili Cheese Dog Fatty

Leave a Reply

