Beetroot and Ginger Cured Gravlax

Just before Christmas I was browsing my reader and ran across a delicious sounding recipe from Conor over at One Man’s Meat. I decided to give it a shot as I love beets and salmon. His recipe for Gravadlax with Beetroot and Ginger -Truly a Christmas Miracle was exceptional and easy. I love to try new things and this was it, so here we go.

I used a nice 20 oz piece of Atlantic salmon which had just been defrosted. Lucky me, the pin bones were actually all removed by the fish guy!2016-01-19 15.16.36

I used Conor’s measurements exactly but used kosher salt instead of sea salt and I also removed the skin from the salmon.

  • 1 piece of salmon about 20 oz
  • 5 oz kosher salt
  • 5 oz granulated sugar
  • 2 beetroot shredded
  • 2 inches of ginger 

I stirred together my curing mixture and put half of it into a pan lined with plastic wrap.2016-01-19 15.19.02

I placed the salmon into the pan with the cure.2016-01-19 15.19.41

Then it is topped off with the rest of the beetroot mixture and wrapped up in plastic.2016-01-19 15.46.51

I placed another pan on top of that and put in a big jar of salsa to weigh it down.2016-01-19 15.35.57

Into the fridge it goes for “3 days and 3 nights” as Conor put it. I turned it over one time about half way through. On the fourth day I pulled it out and rinsed it off and dried with a paper towel. Wow! Would ya look at that color. It is amazing.2016-01-22 13.04.39

I sliced some nice and thin and arranged the slices on a plate and topped them with some lemon aioli, capers, black pepper and a touch of dill. The salmon had firmed up a touch and tasted delicious. You can really taste the beetroot which is very nice. I did not get a lot of ginger so I would probably double that next time. It was a touch salty for me but that can easily be remedied by using a little less salt or less time in the cure. All in all it is definitely something that should be tried if you like beets and salmon. I know I will make it again. Once again, thanks for the recipe and inspiration Conor!2016-01-22 13.17.24

Meet Meat!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Beetroot and Ginger Cured Gravlax

  1. Brilliant! Tony, I suspect the skin is the salt culprit. Kerping it on will almost half the exposure to salt. Having said that, I really like the idea of a skin free end product.
    Thanks for trying this and thanks for the kind words.
    Best,
    C

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

