Bacon Cheeseburger Fatty

First fatty of the new year and I get to use my new iGrill2 for the first time outside.

2016-02-09 23.09.20

I used 1 part homemade chorizo and 2 parts ground beef seasoned with some crushed red peppers, onion powder and black pepper. Form into a rectangle about 1/2 inch thick.2016-02-08 19.26.22

Topped this off with ketchup, mustard, sliced dill pickles and caramelized onions.2016-02-08 19.32.48

I used about 1/2 lb of sharp cheddar cheese next.2016-02-08 19.35.13

Carefully rolled it up and sealed the ends. Some of the fillings were popping out of the seam side. I closed it up as good as possible. I put the seam side down into the middle of the bacon weave and secured it with toothpicks. (It did not make it quite all the way around). Wrapped tightly in plastic wrap to chill over night.2016-02-08 19.41.56

On to the BBQ with apple wood for smoke around 250ish degrees until the internal temp was 155 (I know lots of people will say that’s not hot enough but after you pull it and it rests it goes up 5-10 degrees). I let it rest for about half an hour.2016-02-09 17.55.01

This fatty was definitely one of my best. I loved smokey bacon and tender meat with the little acidity from the pickles and the gooey cheese. Delish! Thanks for stopping by my little slice of the interwebs 🙂2016-02-09 17.57.55

Meet Meat!

 

19 thoughts on “Bacon Cheeseburger Fatty

    1. Thanks Debbie! I use a seasoning mix from a local place for my chorizo. I’m sure there are recipes for the seasoning online. Also vinegar is a big key in chorizo and of course….fresh ground pork 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

