Spicy Biscuits with Collard Greens and Ham

So there I was, scrolling through my reader and ran across a post from Audrey at Lady Melady, “Skillet Cornbread, Collard Greens and Ham“. This sounds and looks fantastic! Thinking I had everything in the kitchen to create this, I started working on it for supper. I had frozen collard greens so I started cooking about 3 cups in a little chicken broth for about half an hour and strained and squeezed the juice out and reduced that down to about 1/2 a cup. Oh no, no bacon…that’s ok I used some bacon fat to saute the onions with her little trick of adding a little baking soda to help the caramelization along. I used some frozen ham I had leftover and cut that into little matchsticks. I added the ham to the onions with the collard greens and some garlic powder, salt and pepper and the reduced liquid from the greens.

Now I don’t even own any cast iron (it is on my list of need-to-gets). I just used a 9×9 Pyrex pan. I added the ham and collard green mixture to the pan and put about 4 Tbs of butter on top like Audrey did.2016-02-19 17.35.11

Then  I topped that with about a cup of shredded sharp cheddar cheese because I had some and how can that not be good. 🙂2016-02-19 17.36.06

So now I have nothing to make cornbread with…ugh…I was not going to the store just for that so I used a biscuit mix I had in the cupboard.2016-02-19 14.53.37

I prepared that according to the instructions on the box and smeared it all over the top of the ham/greens/cheese mixture.2016-02-19 18.31.58

Into the oven at 425 degrees for about 30 minutes. Once done I pulled it out and brushed it with a couple Tbs of melted butter.2016-02-19 19.12.33

While it was definitely not the same as Audrey’s, it was most delicious with the salty ham, the sweetness from the caramelized onions and the slight bitterness from the greens all topped with the spicy biscuits. I will be making some version of this again for sure, I am thinking pulled pork maybe. Thanks again for the great inspiration Audrey. 😉2016-02-19 19.37.33

Meet Meat!

5 thoughts on “Spicy Biscuits with Collard Greens and Ham

Leave a Reply

