Chicken Enchiladas Verde

When I saw the big jar of salsa verde at the store I knew I had to make some enchiladas. Chicken always is a good choice for enchiladas so I grabbed a large pack of drumsticks since they were on sale. I started by roasting the legs at 375 degrees for about an hour. I let them cool and picked the meat off the bones which were then placed into a pot with plenty of water to cover them up. I simmered the bones for several hours then strained the stock which I reduced down until it tasted rich and delicious. I added a touch of cumin, garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper. I poured in the wonderful salsa verde and thickened it all up with a little cornstarch slurry.

While the sauce is cooling a little I diced up half of an onion and mixed that in with the chicken along with some pepper jack cheese and added about a cup of the sauce to make the filling. I poured about a cup of the sauce into the bottom of my 9×13 baking dish. The rest of the sauce went into a pie plate so I can soak the white corn tortillas. Now you can take the soaked tortillas and load them up with the filling, roll them and place into the baking dish. I then poured the leftover sauce over all of the enchiladas.2016-03-05 18.37.55

I topped it with the remaining pepper jack and into the oven at 375 degrees until they internal temperature was at 165 degrees.2016-03-05 18.39.32

Once the temperature was good I switched the oven to broil to brown up the top nicely.2016-03-05 19.15.17

Wow is all I can say! That rich, green sauce was perfectly spiced and there was a ton of chicken in these. Served with just a little sour cream (I forgot the cilantro 😦 ). The only thing I would do next time would be to get more cheese since I really like enchiladas super gooey. Nonetheless it was a fantastic dinner! Thanks for hanging out with me.2016-03-05 19.22.04

Meet Meat!

6 thoughts on “Chicken Enchiladas Verde

Leave a Reply

