Bone In Pork Loin Rib Roast

So the local grocery store had a sale on some pork chops so I asked my meat guy if he could get me a big roast to smoke whole. He did just that cutting me a nice 6 lb chunk of what is basically a pork prime rib. 2016-06-04 20.12.50

This is a nice hunk of flesh and bone. I was debating if I wanted to cut it up first and have a boneless pork loin and some baby back ribs but I decided to just smoke it whole. I figured I was going to get a couple meals out of this thing.  I started by removing the membrane from the ribs. There is no way they are going to be tender by the time the loin reaches 140° but I wanted them to be ready for another day. 2016-06-04 20.13.31

I got the roast all rubbed down with some spicy coffee rub and let it sit in the fridge overnight uncovered.2016-06-04 20.18.38

I smoked it on the Weber at 225° using apple wood until it reached 140° close to the bone but not touching it.2016-06-05 19.32.51

I let it rest for about 1/2 an hour loosely tented with foil. It was not quite long enough because when I cut into it the juices came flowing out but I was so hungry. I used each slice to soak up some of the spilled juices.2016-06-05 20.06.18

The loin was so flavorful and juicy. I served it with some dill potato salad and baked beans. This was a great first meal from this beautiful roast.2016-06-05 20.09.37

The next night I had a craving for some tacos, so I decided to cube up the rest of the loin for that. I had a nice bowl of bacon fat from making my bacon jam so I decided I was going to use that to slowly cook the loin cubes carnitas-style in the bacon fat. I cooked the pork to 204° which is about the perfect temperature to shred meat easily. 2016-06-06 20.12.54

I added some cumin, chili powder, garlic, cayenne and a little beer after it was shredded to make my taco meat. 2016-06-06 20.47.53

Yeah, tacos are a delicious way to use almost any leftover meat but this was special. Besides the wonderful Mexican type flavors that I had going the bacon flavor came through nicely as well. Some of the best tacos I have had in a while!2016-06-06 20.52.34

For my last meal from this fantastic pork roast I did not get too carried away. I added some rub, barbecue sauce and beer and wrapped the ribs in foil to finish slowly in a 225° oven until they were fork tender which took about 4 hours. Unfortunately, the photos I took looked like crap so you will not get to see the ribs (they were not beautiful anyhow), but they sure were tender and tasted fantastic.

I love that for less than eleven dollars worth of meat I was able to get three fantastic meals and showed proper respect to my friend the pig. 🙂 Thanks for stopping in and checking out the 3 meals from my roast!

Meet Meat!

 

6 thoughts on “Bone In Pork Loin Rib Roast

Leave a Reply

