Apple and Jalapeno Venison Sausage Fatty

Hello fellow meat eaters. I know it has been a long while since I last posted and I am sorry. I ran into several computer issues and it seems I have resolved most of them…most. I have several photos and dishes to put up but I am going to start with my most recent.

I made apple and jalapeno venison sausage that I used to make a fatty stuffed with more apples, jalapenos and cheese! I started by running about two parts venison and one part pork fat through my grinder. Then I seasoned the mix with garlic, onion and chili powder, some oregano and salt and pepper. Then I ran it all through the grinder again with the apples, jalapenos, half an onion and a couple cloves of garlic.2017-01-29-13-10-07

Then one more time just to incorporate everything really well. Looks good. Here is where I fried up a tiny bit to check the seasoning. It was delicious!2017-01-29-13-27-17

I took about half of the sausage and made it into a nice rectangle, about 10 x 13 inches on top of some plastic wrap.2017-01-29-14-38-16

I arranged the thinly sliced Granny Smith apples and jalapenos, leaving a couple inches at the top so I can get a nice seal.2017-01-29-14-52-35

I added some grated pepper jack and sharp cheddar.2017-01-29-14-57-50

Now its time to roll it up. Keep it tight using the plastic wrap to help roll. Then pinch and seal the seam.2017-01-29-15-02-35

Next, I laid out more plastic wrap and laid down strips of bacon vertically and just slightly overlapping. Carefully move the fatty onto the bacon and wrap the strips around. Now if you did a good job of rolling and wrapping you won’t need to use toothpicks or anything else to secure the bacon. 2017-01-29-15-24-29

Time for smoke. I used the Weber with a small “snake” of briquettes and a few apple wood chunks. 2017-01-29-16-22-56

I cooked the fatty at 250° until the internal temperature was about 155°-160°, about 2.5 hours. By this time the bacon looked really nice as well.2017-01-29-18-58-04

I let it rest covered in foil and a towel while I made some 3 ingredient mac and cheese. It is so good for being so easy. I do cheat and add a little salt and sriracha or other hot sauce to it as well but that’s it!2017-01-29-19-18-55

I really can’t say enough good things about this one. The cheesy was gooey, the apples and jalapenos still had a little bite to them, the bacon was cooked just right and helped keep the sausage very moist and delicious. Not at all gamey tasting. If you did not know it was venison you would have thought it was just beef…maybe even pork since it did have a good bit of pork fat. Anyhow, hope you enjoyed this cook and hopefully I will get more stuff posted here later in the next week or so. Thanks for stopping!unspecified

Meet Meat!

 

8 thoughts on “Apple and Jalapeno Venison Sausage Fatty

Leave a Reply

